Gingerbread cookies (+recipe)!

Merry *belated* Christmas guys! Haha in my church, us youths have this tradition of exchanging confectionery/random food stuff after the Christmas service. This year, instead of buying chocolates as I usually do, I thought it be nice if I could bake some gingerbread cookies instead. Since I like eating them anyway :P

Gingerbread tree!Gingerbread tree!

I’m really glad I baked them, because they were a hit! The ginger taste wasn’t too strong, and the cookies had one awesome crunch. Hahaha when I see other people happily eating them (and wanting to take more lol), I feel happy too :D

The original recipe for these cookies was shared with me by my friend, Yu Jing. It’s a recipe from SORTED (LOVE their well made website!), which is a treasure trove of quick and easy recipes with accompanying videos. Anyway, me being me, I decided to tweak the recipe because following it is too boring :P Here’s my version of it:

CRUNCHY GINGERBREAD COOKIES

Ingredients

  • 150g unsalted butter
  • 120g dark muscovado sugar
  • 4 tablespoons honey
  • 410g plain flour, sieved
  • 1 level teaspoons bicarbonate of soda
  • 3 heaped teaspoons ground ginger
  • 1 level teaspoon salt
  • 1 level teaspoon cinnamon
  • AS MUCH NUTELLA AS YOU LIKE

Before bakingBefore baking.

Method

  1. Melt (or cream) the butter, sugar and honey until the sugar has dissolved. Don’t worry if you get 2 separate layers of the dark sugar/honey and melted butter.
  2. Mix the flour, bicarbonate of soda, ground ginger, salt and cinnamon together.
  3. Pour in the melted mixture and mix it till a dough forms. After a couple of minutes it should be cool enough for you to kneed the dough with your hands.
  4. Roll the dough out into a thickness of about 0.3-0.5cm. The dough is pretty oily so you shouldn’t need to dust the surface/rolling pin with flour.
  5. (Optional) If the dough is too crumbly/soft, you can chuck it in the fridge for half an hour. This makes the dough super hard and difficult to mould, so don’t skip step 4 before 5!
  6. Cut out whatever shapes you want and put them in a baking tray. Since the dough is really oily, you don’t need a non stick tray/baking paper. Be careful not to put them too close to each other as they’ll expand while baking.
  7. Bake the cookies in the oven at 165°C for about 6-8min (depending on how powerful your oven is), or until your cookies are nice and brown.
  8. Let the cookies cool and turn crisp (when they’re still hot they’re soft) for around 5-10min. They should now come off the tray easily.
  9. (Optional) SMOTHER THE COOKIES IN NUTELLA FOR SOME AWESOME CHOCOLATE GOODNESS.

And that’s it! This recipe makes a lot of cookies, enough to fill around 2 typical transparent disposable rectangular container. Here’s a(n unglam) picture of me rolling out the dough from just 1 portion (yes that’s a lot of dough) of the above recipe:

Rolling the dough with a water bottle cause I don't have a rolling pin ):
Rolling the dough with a water bottle cause I don’t have a rolling pin ):

Since I bought enough ingredients for 3 portions of the recipe, I decided to be nice and let my sister use some of it to give out as well. Because we don’t have any cookie cutters except for 1 circular one (it’s actually to make sunshine eggs LOL) and she’s so lazy, her cookies were mostly quarter circles. The only other shape she did was this gigantic fish, and my mum’s reaction when she saw it was EPIC.

Giant fishQuoted from her Facebook: i woke up this morning and found this whale in my fridge. I asked “Jonah, Jonah! are you in there”?

I also made more cookies for my church’s YF Bash with the last bit of dough since everybody loved them hehe.

#yfbash cookies!
#yfbash cookies!

All photos have been auto enhanced by G+ cause my handphone camera really sucks (especially without proper lighting) and I’m too lazy to edit them :P Hope you guys enjoy this recipe! (:

♥ sarrie

Share your thoughts with me!

