KitKat!

Today, I woke up to something awesome, something which I’ve been waiting quite awhile for :D It’s none other than this:

KitKat update!
KitKat update!

I actually shot up immediately in my excitement at finally getting the OTA update on my Nexus 7 (2012, WiFi version)! Yes, I know I could have just flashed 4.4 instead of waiting, but I’ve my reasons. But hey, getting it 10 days after its release isn’t too bad (: I was literally bouncing on my bed while it was updating hehe.

Updating
Updating.

After updating, I noticed a few difference from the lock screen alone: the digital clock now uses only one font weight; the status bar icons are now white instead of blue; and the dotted circle at the bottom of the screen has been changed to an upward arrow, which is a lot more intuitive.

4.4 lockscreen
4.4 lockscreen.

The first thing I did was to go to check out the KitKat Easter egg even though I already knew what it was haha. For those of you wondering, all Android phones/tablets have a version specific Easter egg, just go to Settings > About Phone/Tablet > Android version and poke it to death. In the case of KitKat, you’ll get a K which spins when you poke it. Poke the K to death and you’ll get the Kit Kat-esque Android logo. Press and hold from there and you’ll get the Dessert Case.

KLogoDessert Case
4.4 Easter eggs! Caught the K while it was spinning.

I don’t particularly like the K or the Kit Kat-esque Android logo (actually I think the latter is pretty ugly lol) but I love the Dessert Case! Especially how the tiles fly around and exchange places (:

I spent the next hour plus playing around with my Nexus 7 while travelling back home/having lunch, and honestly by the end of it, I was… kinda disappointed. Not that 4.4 isn’t great, but more like GOOGLE Y U NO RELEASE THE FULL FEATURES TO ALL THE NEXUS DEVICES INSTEAD OF JUST NEXUS 5! ): Granted, a tablet won’t be able to have all the features of a phone, but what about stuff like the new Search launcher? Sigh pie. Must be a conspiracy by Google to make me want to get the Nexus 5 even more lol.

Overall, this update didn’t really bring about as much change as I hoped it would. A lot of functional stuff (like Google Now, the keyboard, etc.) were already updated to the 4.4 version via the Play Store awhile back. Also, I kinda miss holo blue haha. It’s a very nice colour against black/dark gray.

Anyway, for those of you with Nexus devices and are too impatient to wait for the OTA update, you can download and flash it manually from here (Nexus 4), here (Nexus 7), and here (Nexus 10). For a very comprehensive list of all the new features, a lot of which can only be found on the Nexus 5, check this article out. Enjoy! (:

♥ sarrie

Share your thoughts with me!

